Last few places remaining
Reserve your places now: the booking form is online here, or you can use our store to book places and tables for this memorable evening.

For hotels close to our awards dinner venue we recommend HotelMap which provides a live online booking service.


Shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year’s AIBs – our tenth annual international awards for the best factual content across TV, radio and online – has been announced.

Work from more than 30 countries was entered in the festival and the shortlisting team has had to work very hard to compile our final list that is now being judged by our international panel of experts.

The awards will be presented at a gala evening in London on 5 November, hosted by the BBC’s Matthew Amroliwala.


Global coverage

Nominees are telling their audiences about the programmes and personalities shortlisted for this year’s AIBs.

Inaugural sponsor

We are delighted to welcome Eutelsat as our inaugural sponsor for the AIBs 2014.

The awards have now closed for all entries.  Thank you to all the broadcasters from all over the world who have sent in a record number of entries this year – over 300.

Collage of photos of the judges for the AIBs 2014The entries are now being judged by our international panel of judges ready for the awards announcement on 05 November at the AIBs 2014 gala awards evening.


The categories at this year’s awards are:

Live journalism
International current affairs documentary
Domestic current affairs documentary
International investigative documentary
Domestic investigative documentary
Children’s factual programme/series
Science programme or scientific coverage
Live sports coverage
Short documentary
Short news report
Specialist programme
Live journalism
Current affairs documentary
Investigative documentary
Creative feature
Factual online production
International TV personality
International radio personality

Partner with the AIB

To find out about the opportunities for associating your brand with this prestigious event and gaining exposure with key media industry executives globally, please phone Edward Wilkinson at the AIB on +44 20 7993 2557 or email him here


The AIBs 2013 – Winners and Highly commended

AIBs 2013 gala awards dinner at LSO St Luke's - 2The winners and highly commended entries for the AIBs 2013 were announced at our gala dinner on Wednesday 6 November which was attended by nearly 200 people from media companies all over the world, including many senior executives, reporters, producers and editors.

As usual a 30 second clip of each short listed programme was played which gave the audience a taste of the wide range of impressive entries which were moving, inspiring, exciting, fascinating, disturbing and innovative.  See the winners and finalists book with comprehensive details online here.


The highlight of the evening was the “In conversation” piece.  Giles Duley was interviewed by Simon Spanswick about what first caused him to take up photo-journalism and what now drives him to continue despite the appalling injuries he suffered in Afghanistan.  His moving and motivational story and the way he uses his high profile to highlight the suffering of civilians in war zones received two standing ovations from the assembled audience.

The AIBs 2013 – short list

Find out who made it through to the short list of the 2013 AIBs in what turned out to be the toughest competition in the nine year history of this international festival. The short listed entries came from 25 countries, demonstrating the global significance of this influential competition.

See the short list here.